Skip to content

Nice to have you here!

Are you still tracking…

…or are you finally making music?!

Why Heckules?

Concept & Philosophy

Artistic Support & Care

Are you still tracking or are you finally making music?!

Huge sound doesn’t make a great song! The difference is all in the concept – and this is where the special focus in our collaboration lies. From thorough preparation long before the actual recording session,  extensive artistic support and care during tracking, to state-of-the-art mixing, before finally handing over to one of the best and most sought-after mastering engineers of Germany.

You’ve got the idea, I am the tool.

Your chorus lacks power? The song as a whole needs more suspense and excitement? Or maybe some additional vocal harmonies would be nice (Queen-style choirs, baby!)? I’m here to help I’ve and got you covered. So let’s get your ideas out of your head and into reality!

Your Original Sound

Fed up with the ever same sounding drum samples and amp profiles?

Me too! That’s why together we create your sound. No matter whether you would like to stick with real drums and amps, go with samples and modeling, or combine the best of both worlds – your sound will always be tailored specifically to you and your music.

An original sound will improve your chances of success!

To stand out from the masses you need an individual identity, and it all starts with your sound. Because if your band sounds like any other band, it does exactly that – sound like any other band! Great, round of applause please, “Thank you, we’ll be in touch” Only if everything falls into place can something great happen which will help you to uniquely differentiate yourself.

The Heckules Factor

“Nice talk, but you can’t hide your specific studio sound…!”

You’re absolutely right!

Of course all of my projects also show a certain signature style. No matter whether it’s the full-blown production or plain mixing and regardless of which genre: the Heckules factor is always present. You’re sure to recognize it in my portfolio.

Heckules projects sound modern and tidy.

Always with that “natural punch”, but never over-blown.

Even more importantly: Productions, as well as mixes, always cater specifically to the song and its needs. With great love for the music and that meticulous attention to detail – be it while tracking parts or arrangement layers during recording, or establishing some finicky automation or subtle effects while mixing.

Let’s Get Personal

Biography & Background

Hi, I'm Your Tonmeister!

My name is Mathias Heckl and I am a qualified “Diplom-Tonmeister” from the University of Music, Detmold

My far better half likes to call me Heckules – a nod to my surname. This is how the name Heckules Musikproduktion came to be.

I love burgers (as well as chocolate, unfortunately) and I am a huge fan of NFL and American Football in general. Also, I am really enjoying seeing my small son grow up!

Having been raised in a household of classical music (including violin, cello and piano lessons) once I hit puberty I discovered the dark side of music. Since then I‘ve become an incorrigible rock and metal guy and I’ve tried about every instrument you can play in a band. Including backing vocals, but that’s a rather sad story…

Since 2015 I‘ve been living my dream of being self employed in music production. Why don’t you join me for a part of my way – I would love that!

Qualifications / Projects / Artists / Network:

Noteworthy qualifications:

  • Training as an Audio Specialist for Music Production, Radio and TV, Music Support Group (nowadays Deutsche Pop) Munich/Eichenau
  • Academic studies of “Musikübertragung” (Tonmeister studies), University of Music, Detmold. (First scholar of my year to get his degree.)
  • Diploma thesis on mic-ing a grand piano for rock, pop and metal music.
  • Mixing mentorship with Ludwig Mayer, GKG Mastering. (First student occupying the Rock/Metal genre to be accepted.)

Projects, artists and network:

  • John Hayes (Mother’s Finest)
  • Martin Grupe (Stillbirth)
  • Redefined (German finalists SPH Band Contest)
  • Patryk Smolarek (candidate Eurovision Song Contest)
  • Unique Leader Records
  • Noizgate Records / Deafground Records
  • Trypoul Studios, NL
  • Bekegg Studios
  • and many more

Even More Background

So you might be asking yourself, where all this artistic care stuff is coming from.

Well, for me music production is a bit like baking a cake: without proper ingredients the cake will never turn out well, no matter how good your baking skills are. The dough might be the fluffiest and the icing the shiniest. It won’t make any difference if the cake tastes like crap.

This is my main principle and the foundation of how I work. Because it’s only great music that will still be played and listened to in 20 or 30 years time, when our preferences in sound will have long changed.

This is where the Tonmeister studies come back into play…

…as they added a huge arsenal of tools for artistic production to my already existing experience with many different instruments.

For every issue we might encounter – be it questions regarding arrangement, tips on how to play a certain passage, or thoughts on appropriate sound – there is always a respective tool for the solution. And they’re all just waiting to be used by you!

…Now It’s Your Turn!

Contact

Skip to content

Schön, dass Du hier bist!

Nimmst Du noch auf…

…oder machst Du schon Musik?!

Warum Heckules?

Konzept & Philosophie

Künstlerische Betreuung

Nimmst Du noch auf, oder machst du schon Musik?!

Fetter Sound macht noch keinen geilen Song! Den Unterschied macht das Konzept – und dem widmen wir gemeinsam ganz besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Von der ausführlichen Vorbereitung lange vor dem Produktionstermin, über intensivste musikalische Betreuung während der Session, bis zu State of the Art Mischung und die Übergabe an einen der besten und gefragtesten Mastering Engineers Deutschlands.

Du hast die Idee, ich bin Dein Werkzeug.

Egal, ob der Refrain noch fetter werden möchte, der Song insgesamt mehr Spannung haben könnte, oder ein paar zusätzliche Vocal Harmonies cool wären (Queen-style-Chöre, Baby!) – ich bin hier, um Deine Ideen aus Deinem Kopf in die Realität zu holen und stehe stets mit Rat und Tat helfend zur Seite.

Dein eigener Sound

Keine Lust auf immer gleich klingende Drumsamples und tot gehörte Amp Profiles?

Ich auch nicht! Deshalb erschaffen wir gemeinsam Euren Sound. Egal ob echte Drums und Amps, alles Samples und Modelling, oder Best of Both Worlds – immer individuell maßgeschneidert auf Dich, Deine Band und Eure Musik.

Individueller Sound verbessert Eure Erfolgschancen!

Um aus der Masse hervorzustechen braucht es Individualität, und die fängt beim Sound an. Denn wenn Du mit Deiner Band so klingst, wie alle anderen, tut Ihr genau das: Ihr klingt wie alle anderen. Ganz toll, einmal Beifall bitte, „danke, wir melden uns!“ Erst wenn alles zusammenpasst, kann ein Großes Ganzes entstehen, mit dem Ihr Euch von der Masse abhebt.

Der Heckules-Faktor

„Aber Du hast doch auch Deinen eigenen ‘Studio-Sound’…!“

Da hast Du vollkommen Recht!

Natürlich tragen auch meine Projekte eine gewisse Handschrift. Egal ob full-blown-Produktion oder reines Mixing, und egal welches Genre: der Heckules-Faktor ist immer vorhanden. Du kannst es sicherlich im Portfolio nachvollziehen.

Heckules-Projekte klingen modern und aufgeräumt.

Stets mit “natürlichem Punch”, jedoch nicht überkandidelt.

Noch wichtiger aber ist: Sowohl Produktionen als auch Mixe sind immer dem Song und dem Genre verpflichtet. Mit viel Liebe zur Musik und besonderem Augenmerk auf die kleinen Details – sei es beim Tracking von Parts und Layern während der Produktion, oder dem akribischen Ausarbeiten feinster Automationen und subtilen Effekten in der Mischung.

Persönliches

Biographie & Hintergrund

Hi, ich bin Dein Tonmeister!

Mein Name ist Mathias Heckl und ich bin Diplom-Tonmeister der HfM Detmold.

Meine deutlich bessere Hälfte nennt mich gerne Heckules, in Anlehnung an meinen Nachnamen. So entstand auch der Name Heckules Musikproduktion.

Ich liebe Burger (und Schokolade, leider) und bin großer NFL- und Football-Fan. Ansonsten freue ich mich wahnsinnig darüber, meinen kleinen Sohn aufwachsen sehen zu können!

Aufgewachsen im klassischen Musikerhaushalt – inklusive Geigen-, Cello- und Klavierunterricht – habe ich in der Pubertät die dunkle Seite der Musikwelt entdeckt. Seither bin ich unverbesserlicher Rocker/Metaller und habe sämtliche Instrumente ausprobiert, die man in einer Band so spielen kann. Auch Backing Vocals, aber das ist ein sehr trauriges Kapitel…

Seit 2015 lebe ich meinen Traum der Selbständigkeit in der Musikproduktion. Begleite mich doch ein Stück meines Weges – ich würde mich freuen!

Etappen / Projekte / Künstler / Netzwerk:

Wichtige Etappen:

  • Ausbildung zur Audiofachkraft für Musikproduktion, Radio und TV an der Music Support Group (heute Deutsche Pop) München/Eichenau.
  • Studium der Musikübertragung (Tonmeisterstudium) an der HfM Detmold. Abschluss als erster des Jahrgangs.
  • Diplomarbeit über Klaviermikrofonierung in Rock, Pop und Metal.
  • Mixing Mentorship bei Ludwig Mayer, GKG Mastering als erster Tonmeister im Bereich Rock/Metal.

Projekte, Künstler und Netzwerk:

  • John Hayes (Mother’s Finest)
  • Martin Grupe (Stillbirth)
  • Redefined (Deutschland-Finalisten des SPH Bandwettbewerbs)
  • Patryk Smolarek (Kandidat Eurovision Song Contest)
  • Unique Leader Records
  • Noizgate Records / Deafground Records
  • Trypoul Studios, NL
  • Bekegg Studios
  • u.v.a.

Noch mehr Hintergrund

Vielleicht fragst Du Dich, wo denn der ganze Kram mit der künstlerischen Betreuung und dem Konzept herkommt.

Nun, für mich ist Musikproduktion ein bisschen wie Kuchen backen: Ohne gute Zutaten kann der Kuchen nicht geil werden – egal, wie gut ich backen kann. Mein Teig kann noch so fluffig werden und die Glasur noch so glänzen. Wenn der Kuchen nicht schmeckt, hilft das alles nichts.

Dieses Prinzip lebe ich; es ist der eine große Leitpfosten meiner Arbeitsweise. Denn nur geile Musik wird man auch in 20, 30 und mehr Jahren noch gerne hören, wenn sich die klanglichen Vorlieben längst komplett geändert haben.

Hier kommt wieder das Tonmeisterstudium ins Spiel.

Denn damit kam zu meiner Erfahrung mit den verschiedensten Instrumenten ein riesiges Arsenal an Werkzeugen für die künstlerische Betreuung dazu.

Egal ob Arrangement-Fragen, Tipps zur Spielweise oder Überlegungen zu songdienlichen Grundsounds – für jede Stellschraube gibt es den passenden Schraubenschlüssel. Und sie alle warten nur darauf, von Dir be- und genutzt zu werden.

…und jetzt Du!

Kontakt